Advanced Search
Top  Catalog  Vinyle  0301132NM
John Metcalfe : Absence.
Format : 1 Vinyle 33T

Label : Neue Meister
Catalog No. : 0301132NM
EAN : 0885470011325
Price Code : DM026A

Publishing Year : 2018

Genre : Pop
John Metcalfe (1964-)
So Clear
Above the Waves of Crystal Water
Feel the Land
Boats and Corsses
The Sound Was Our Ocean
Twelve Days Later
When They Weep
See Me Through

Rosie Doonan, voix
Ali Friend, basse
Daisy Palmer, batterie

John Metcalfe, who arranges songs for big names such as Coldplay, Simple Minds and The Pretenders, has produced albums with Peter Gabriel and has been touring for decades as a member of the Duke Quartet. Now he releases his debut album on the Neue Meister label. Metcalfe has always been surrounded by music. As a child, he would listen to his father sing opera, before a love of Kraftwerk and Joy Division led to a stint as a drummer in a high school band. But it was a move to Manchester that really accelerated his development as an artist, and led to him finding his true calling. Joining cult band The Durutti Column, then signed to legendary label Factory Records, brought him into the orbit of Tony Wilson and the Haçienda, formative events that would help foster his renegade spirit. Unimpressed with the strictures demanded by the classical recording industry, Metcalfe persuaded Wilson to launch the ground-breaking Factory Classical Label, aimed at unearthing exciting – and unconventional – new British talent. It was here that Metcalfe found a home, and the group that would come to define his musical career; the Duke Quartet. For nearly 30 years, they’ve existed at the vanguard of contemporary British music, innovating and delighting in equal measure. Working with world-renowned artists across the entire cultural spectrum, from pop, dance, film, TV, and theatre, Metcalfe honed his arranging and producing skills; he’s now one of the UK’s most sought after arrangers, regularly working with some of biggest names in music. As a solo artist, Metcalfe explores electro-classical soundscapes and the boundaries between genres. His finely tuned compositions are neat yet grand in scale, both in terms of sound and the conceptual ideas underpinning them. Absence, the fifth record to bear his own name, is something of a departure for Metcalfe, framing bold images and themes with some of the most conventional song structures he’s ever employed. But it’s also his most affecting, deconstructing a subject he’s been interested in since his childhood in New Zealand: Dealing with loss.

.  Write Review
Order Product

18,96 €
Catalogue Price : 27,10 €
Ships within 24 hours!
Free Shipping is available for this item
Free Shipping Available!
Click here for more info

ClicMag of the month
ClicMag n°83 - 06/2020
ClicMag n°83 - 06/2020
Label Info
Neue Meister
All CDs from this label
Label Website
Tell A Friend

Tell someone you know about this product.